Commitment to Diversity

In 1991, the UCSF Department of Psychiatry formed the Committee on Ethnic, Cultural and Gender Diversity (renamed the UCSF Department of Psychiatry Diversity Committee in 1994) with the goal of furthering the culture of diversity, equity and inclusion within the psychiatry. Specifically, the committee was charged with:

  • Recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff and trainees
  • Furthering education to understand the impact culture has on psychiatric presentation

Today, the Diversity Committee assists and informs department leadership in the recruitment and retention of students and faculty from underrepresented populations to better serve our diverse patient populations, with a member of the diversity committee serving on each search committee. The committee also sponsors and selects the recipient of the annual Dr. Evelyn Lee Visiting Scholar Lecture in Cultural Competence and Diversity.

View previous Dr. Evelyn Lee Visiting Scholar Lecture in Cultural Competence and Diversity speakers

• 2016: Elyn R. Saks, JD, PhD - Video #1 - Video #2
• 2015: Helena Hansen, MD, PhD - Video #1 - Video #2
• 2014: Lonnie R. Snowden, PhD - Video
• 2013: Francis Lu, MD
• 2012: Greg Herek, PhD
• 2011: Margarita Alegria, PhD
• 2010: Sergio Aguilar-Gaxioloa, MD, PhD
• 2009: Gail Wyatt, PhD
• 2008: Richard Mollica, MD, PhD
• 2007: Stanley Sue, PhD
• 2006: Monica McGoldrick, LCSW, PhD
• 2005: Robert Carter, PhD

In 2015, Christina Mangurian, MD, MAS, became chair of the committee and combined it with the then-San Francisco General Hospital Cultural Humility Task Force. A Latina psychiatrist, she has served on the committee since joining the faculty in 2009. Dr. Mangurian is the Vice Chair for Diversity and Health Equity for the Department of Psychiatry; Director of the UCSF Public Psychiatry Fellowship at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, and Associate Faculty and UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations at Zuckerberg San Francisco General.

Former chairs of the committee include Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, FASM; Patrick Reilly, PhD; and Patricia Areán, PhD.

Committee members


The committee has diverse representation in terms of gender, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation, campus location, and area of expertise (education, research, and clinical care). These members work with the chair to attain the vision of the committee.

Committee task forces

The UCSF Department of Psychiatry Diversity Committee carries out its goals through task forces in the following areas:

  1. Recruitment and Retention - facilitates and supports the successful hiring of individuals from diverse backgrounds into positions at all levels of the department
  2. Education - facilitates, sponsors, and promotes diversity related programming to increase awareness of diversity among faculty, residents, interns, and staff in the department
  3. Research - encourages diversity among department researchers, as well as research to address important topics relating to the diversity of individuals in human populations
  4. Communication disseminates information about department and university diversity efforts, news, and resources to department members

Interested in joining the Diversity Committee? Please contact Edwin Flores.