UCSF Psychiatry News

A glass of soda
November 09, 2016
People who sleep five or fewer hours a night are likely to also drink significantly more sugary caffeinated drinks, such as sodas and energy drinks.
2016 ISOSL Day logo
November 07, 2016
The University of California, San Francisco Department of Psychiatry, along with the San Francisco chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP), will host a morning of reflection, discussion, and support on Saturday, November 19, 2016, for International Survivors of Suicide Loss Day.
Margolis and Mason
November 01, 2016
Two new faculty members have recently officially begun their academic appointments with the Department of Psychiatry. Please join us in welcoming both of these new colleagues to our faculty ranks.
An apple and a doughnut
November 01, 2016
Do you find yourself craving ice cream, intoxicated by an image of french fries or unable to resist the candy jar at a co-worker’s desk? Research shows you’re not alone.
UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences logo
October 27, 2016
The UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences has named the first recipients of the UCSF Weill Innovation and Scholar Awards as part of the institute’s goal to support high-risk, high-reward research.
Conference logo
October 19, 2016
The 63rd Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) will be held Monday, October 24 – Saturday, October 29, 2016 in New York, and numerous current and former UCSF Psychiatry faculty members and trainees will be in attendance.
Lauren Weiss, PhD
October 18, 2016
UCSF Psychiatry faculty member Lauren Weiss, PhD, was among the 10 individuals honored at UC San Francisco’s 2016 Chancellor Diversity Awards.
October 18, 2016
New research led by UC San Francisco scientists has revealed that mutations in a gene linked with brain development may dispose people to multiple forms of psychiatric disease by changing the way brain cells communicate.
Elissa Epel, PhD
October 17, 2016
Professor of Psychiatry Elissa Epel, PhD, is among the 79 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.
BBRF logo
October 13, 2016
Anna Molofsky, MD, PhD, and Dhakshin Ramanathan, MD, PhD, have been awarded 2016 NARSAD Young Investigator Grants in recognition of their work as promising young scientists conducting innovative, cutting-edge neurobiological research.