Yaffe honored by AAGP, named vice chair of IOM committee

Monday, March 17, 2014

YaffeKristine Yaffe, MD, received the 2014 Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry (AAGP) at their annual conference in Orlando.  Bestowed annually, the award is the highest research honor for the medical specialty of geriatric psychiatry. 

Yaffe was chosen in recognition of her numerous scientific contributions to the field of geriatric psychiatry and for mentoring successful contributing junior researchers. As part of the award, she presented a lecture during a special research awards session at the AAGP Annual Meeting this past weekend. 

In addition to her accolade from the AAGP, Yaffe has also been named vice chair of the Institute of Medicine (IOM)'s Committee on the Public Health Dimensions of Cognitive Aging. The committee, which began work in February and includes Adam Gazzeley MD, PhD, among its members, will make recommendations to IOM focused on the public health aspects of cognitive aging, as distinct from Alzheimer's disease.


Leadership in research, education, psychiatric care and public service